2011 PCBL A Division Summer Championship
Sunday, August 21st @ 7:00pm / USC Dedeaux Field
White Sox -vs- Durham Bulls


Durham Bulls "Cook" Sinks the Sox with Historic No-Hitter

By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff Writer



The best was definitely saved for last on this final game of our championship triple-header at USC’s Dedeaux Field this past weekend. History was made as Bulls starting pitcher D.J. Cook pulled off what had not been done before in a PCBL championship. He pitched a no-hitter. Though he came close to losing the no-no more than once; he held it together until a strike out to the final batter made it official. Cook walked off the mound with a look of disbelief on his face as his teammates mobbed him and hoisted him up in the air in celebration. It was an amazing moment in PCBL history, to be sure. So lets do a quick recap of this great championship game …


The Sox get on the board first in this championship in the top of the 1st. With 1 out in the inning, the next 2 batters walk … an auspicious start for Bulls pitcher Cook; considering the outcome. The next 2 batters are retired; though a run scores on a throwing error by the catcher. The Sox get 1 run in the inning to take the early 1-0 lead.


The Bulls would come up in the bottom of the 4th inning; still trailing 1-0. Leadoff hitter Collin Ozar singles to right to start things off. He advances to 2nd on a fielder’s choice and later scores on a fielding error. The Bulls get 1 run in the inning; tying the game at 1 apiece through 4 complete innings of play.


The Bulls come to bat in the bottom of the 5th inning with the game still tied at 1. With 1 out, the next 2 batters draw walks. Two batters later, Larry Block reaches by way of a fielding error; with a run scoring on the play.  Another run scores on a wild pitch.  Mike Ramirez follows with an RBI triple. The Bulls get 3 runs in the inning to take a 4-1 lead through 5 innings of play.


We entered the top half of the 9th inning; knowing that we were witnessing something special. D.J. Cook is standing on the mound …. Finding himself in a moment that is rarely duplicated. He is 3 outs away from history. His first obstacle is George Williams; who flies out to center for the 1st out. Two to go. Next up is right-fielder Eric Schneider. He goes down swinging for the 2nd out. Up steps The Law …. Law Crone. Will the Law win? We were about to find out …


Everyone is standing …. Anticipating the moment. Everyone was hanging on every pitch. And then it came ….. Law drives a ball hard to the left of the short stop. The short stop runs to his left … cleanly plays the ball ….. and fires his throw over the head of the first baseman, sending Law Crone to 2nd. It is ruled an error on the errant throw and the no hitter was still alive.


The no hitter was still alive. Cook felt a rush of relief; knowing it was still possible. The next batter was Wills Dowd; who reached base by error in his last at bat. Dowd worked the count to 2-2. The tension was thick as D.J. Cook reared back … and fired. The 2-2 pitch. A high fast ball …..

swing and a miss … STRIKE 3.


He did it! D.J. Cook provided the PCBL with its’ first Championship no-hitter in league history. The MVP in this championship was the biggest no brainer to date. Congratulations, D.J. Cook; on a most impressive and legendary performance!


Congratulations to the White Sox; who played a solid game in their own right. Law Crone was solid in 6 innings of pitching; allowing only 4 hits while walking 2 and striking out 5. They were just unable to figure out D.J. Cook; who had perfect control over the 2 hour and 20 minute championship. And finally, a huge congratulations to this years’ Summer A-Division Champs … the Durham Bulls!

Sox     1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0   6 
0 3 
Bulls   0 0 0 1 3 0 0 0 -    4 4 3

Pitching Stats:

(WP) D.J. Cook (Bulls)  (Game MVP)       

CG;  Allowed 1 run (unearned) on 0 hits; with 6 walks & 8 K's    

(LP)  Law Crone (Sox)

6IP;  Allowed 4 runs (2 earned) on 4 hits; with 2 walks & 5 K's           


Game Time:   7:05pm  -  9:25pm   (2 hours 20 mins)



    1st Base   (Ralph Peck)
    2nd Base  (Carlos Trujillo)
    3rd Base  (Joe Galiano)
    Plate         (Justin Amit)