2009 Spring Season
Orange County AA League Champions

2009 PCBL Orange County AA League Champions

Isotopes (2) -vs- Sea Dogs (1)
May 17th, 2009 @ Storm Stadium, Lake Elsinore


Sea Dog's Cardin Shuts Down Isotopes
By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff Writer

This was the first game of our championship doubleheader at the beautiful Storm Stadium in Lake Elsinore. It was already warming up before the scheduled 9am start of this AA Division Championship; but it was a gorgeous, clear day for baseball in the O.C. The visiting Isotopes were eager to face the home team Sea Dogs; and it showed as both teams were pumped up and ready in the moments leading up to game time. So the stage was set, Whitney Houston belted out the National Anthem and the players and umpires were on the field .... time to PLAY BALL!


The first Isotope to reach base in the top of the 1st inning is Aaron LaBreau who draws a 1-out walk. Jacob McCormick follows with an RBI double to give the Isotopes the first run of the game. John Shaw would be hit by a pitch and the next batter would pop out to 2nd base. The next batter would be Mike Farris who singles off the glove of the shortstop to score a run. McCormick gets caught in a rundown after the run scores and is tagged out to end the inning. the Isotopes get 2 runs in the top of the 1st to take the early 2-0 lead.
But the Sea Dogs respond back in the bottom of the 2nd inning. With 2 out in the inning, catcher Brian Wilson doubles down the left field line. First baseman Keith Divel responds with a line shot to left field which goes through the legs of the left fielder and to the wall; scoring Wilson and sending Divel to third. Second baseman Joel Karwoski follows with an RBI single to left. The Sea Dogs settle for 2 runs in the bottom of the 2nd inning to bring this championship even at 2 apiece.
With the Isotopes failing to score in the top half of the 3rd inning, the Sea Dogs come up in the bottom of the 3rd to try and break the 2-2 tie. They lead off with shortstop Ian McKesson, who singles to the gap in left center field and steals 2nd shortly thereafter. The next batter is Jose Pineda who grounds back to the pitcher; sacrificing McKesson over to 3rd. Brian Seymour is the next batter and he grounds out to second, but gets the RBI as McKesson scores from 3rd. Next to bat is Juan Salazar who reaches due to a fielding error on the 1st baseman. With 2 out and 2 runners on, catcher Bobby Castro doubles down the 3rd base line to score Salazar. the Sea Dogs get 2 runs in the inning and now have a 4-2 lead through 3 innings of play.
Sea Dogs relief pitcher Keegan Cardin would allow a single in the top of the 4th inning, but that would be it; as the Sea Dogs come up in the bottom of the 4th inning maintaining the 4-2 lead. The Sea Dogs leadoff the bottom half of the 4th inning with Brian Wilson who singles over the reach of the first baseman and into right field for his second hit of the game. Soon after, Wilson would steal 2nd and then advance to 3rd on a throwing error. The next batter would strike out, sending Joel Karwoski to the plate with Wilson on 3rd base and 1 out. He hits a hard line drive under the glove of the shortstop and into left center field for an RBI single; his second RBI single of the contest. The Sea Dogs would settle for the single run in the inning; taking a 5-2 lead through 4 complete innings of play.
All that can be said at this point of the game is that Sea Dog relief pitcher Keegan Cardin was completely dominating on the mound. He allowed only 4 Isotopes hits in the ballgame; all but shutting them down in his 7 innings of work. The Sea Dogs would need no more in the way of offense as they coasted to a 5-2 victory in this AA Championship. Congratulations to the 2009 O.C. AA Division Champion Sea Dogs on a great season and a solid championship victory! And a special thumbs up to relief pitcher Keegan Cardin for becoming the obvious choice for MVP with such a solid outing! Honorable mention needs to go to Isotopes relief pitcher Scott Myers who entered the game in the 5th inning and pitched 4 shutout innings; allowing only 2 hits in the process! A very solid pitching effort, despite the fact that the damage was already done.

Game Time: 9:10am - 11:55am (2 hours, 45 mins)
Game MVP: RP Keegan Cardin (Sea Dogs) 7 innings, 0 runs on 4 hits, 0 Walks & 9 K's
Offensive Kudos:

Brian Wilson (Sea Dogs) 2 for 3; single, double, 2 runs
Joel Karwoski (Sea Dogs) 2 for 3; 2 singles, 2 RBI's
Bobby Castro (Sea Dogs) 1 for 3; walk, double, 1 RBI
Keith Divel (Sea Dogs) 1 for 3; single, 1 RBI
Box Score                              R H E
Isotopes    2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0    2 6 2
Sea Dogs  0 2 2 1 0 0 0 0 -     5 10 1
Bases: Lavel Bowen
Plate: Eddie Garcia
Pitching Stats:
SP: Dylan Murphy (Sea Dogs) 2 IP / allowed 2 runs on 2 hits; walked 2 and struck out 0
WP: Keegan Cardin (Sea Dogs) 7 IP / allowed 0 runs on 4 hits; walked 0 and struck out 9
LP: Sean Carson (Isotopes) 4 IP / allowed 5 runs on 8 hits; walked 0 and struck out 4
RP: Scott Myers (Isotopes) 4 IP / allowed 0 runs on 2 hits; walked 1 and struck out 4