2009 O.C. PCBL Fall AAA Division Championship

Fall 2009 PCBL Orange County AAA League Champions

Sunday, December 6th @ 5:30pm / USC Dedeaux Field
La Onda (4-4-2) -vs- Mets (8-2)


La Onda comes out on Top in AAA Thriller
By Scot Sweet / PCBL Staff Writer

It cooled down considerably for the nightcap of the championship triple-header at beautiful Dedeaux Field; home of USC Trojans baseball. Walking up to the main entrance of this legendary stadium; you get an immediate sense of the history of this field and the legends that have played on it. Dave Kingman, Fred Lynn, Barry Zito, Tom Seaver, Randy Johnson and Mark McGuire, just to name a few ... have all began their baseball careers here. We were more than excited to get this final game of our PCBL Championship Day under way. With that being said, it's time to "Play Ball!"

The game is scoreless as La Onda come up in the top half of the 2nd inning. With 2 outs in the inning, Sam Goriel singles and later scores on a fieldiing error. La Onda ends up with the single unearned run in the inning to take the early 1-0 lead. La Onda comes up in the top of the 3rd inning; still up 1-0. They lead off with Abe Hatem, who draws a walk. The next 2 batters ground out; but they are able to move Hatem over to 3rd in the process. With 2 out and 1 on, the next batter is J.C. Coleman. He singles home Hatem. La Onda add a run to their lead; now up by a score of 2-0 through 2 1/2 inning of play.
Here come the Mets in the bottom of the 3rd inning; hoping to get on the board in this championship contest. With 1 out in the inning, Albert Ramos singles. The next batter is starting pitcher Kody Farrel who draws a walk. Tony Welsh follows; and he also draws a walk to load the bases for catcher Jay Powell. Powell drives a single to left to score a pair. The Mets settle for 2 runs in the inning; but they even things in this championship; tying the game up 2-2 through 3 complete innings of play.
La Onda comes to bat in the top of the 5th inning with the game still locked in a 2-2 tie. They lead off with center fielder Mikey Robertson who draws a leadoff walk. As the next batter goes down swinging, Robertson steals 2nd base and later reaches 3rd on a pass ball. With 1 out and 1 on, the next batter is Abe Hatem. He singles to right, scoring Robertson. The next batter reaches base due to a fielders choice; followed by Alfy Baca who singles. The next batter is J.C. Coleman who got an RBI single in his last at bat. He come up with 2 out and the bases full. He is hit by a pitch to force across a run. Las Onda end up with 2 runs in the inning to take a 4-2 lead through 4 1/2 innings of play.
The pitching was simply masterful in this contest. Both starting pitchers were still firing away and racking up strikeouts as we entered the bottom of the 9th inning with the score still 4-2 LaOnda. the Mets had one more chance to get some runs and perhaps change the outcome of this championship. They lead off with Nick Peralta who singles; bringing the tying run to the plate with nobody out. The next batter is Jake Ruppert; and he grounds out to 2nd, but moves the runner over to 2nd base. The next batter is Joe Seeno who draws a walk; putting runners at 1st and 2nd with 1 out for leadoff hitter Travis Chapman. He grounds out to 3rd, but the runners move up to 2nd and 3rd on the play. The next batter, Taylor Stoecker, draws a walk to load the bases with 2 out and the tying run standing on 2nd base. The batter is Albert Ramos who singled, walked twice and struke out twice in this contest. He goes deep into the count .... until a letter high fastball gets him swinging for strike three ... and the game is history.
Congratulations to both teams for putting on such a great AAA Division Championship! Especially to the starting pitchers for both clubs, Jeremiah Curran and Kody Farrell, for their amazing effort on the mound! Both pitchers struck out 13 in this championship .... and that is just unbelievable! And finally, congratulations to the O.C. PCBL AAA Division Champion LaOnda ..... for a solid season and for coming out on top in this competative championship!



Game Time:
5:30pm - 8:10pm (2 hours, 40 minutes)

Box Score: R H E
La Onda 0 1 1 0 2 0 0 0 0 4 7 1
Mets 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 6 4

La Onda Offensive Stars:
J.C. Coleman 2 for 3; 2 singles, hit by pitch, 1 RBI
Sam Goriel 2 for 4; 2 singles, 1 run
Abe Hatem 1 for 2; single, walk, 1 RBI, 1 run

(WP) Jeremiah Curran (La Onda) CG; Allowed 2 runs on 6 hits; 9 walks & 13 K's (MVP)
&13 K's